Amazon Interview Experience - 6 Months Internship 2022 (Off Campus)

Kunal Raut
4 min readDec 15, 2021

My Interview Experience with Amazon for 6 months Internship — 2022 [Offer]

Resume :

Link to My Resume.

How I got the interview opportunity ?

It was 2 months back, when one of my College senior working at Amazon approached me for the Internship opportunity for 2022 grads. He referred me for that position. And after around a month I got the mail regarding my Online Assessment Round details which is the First Round of the process.

First Round (Online Assessment Round) :

This round was conducted on AMCAT platform. And I was expected to finish the test within next 24 hours.

The test consisted of four sections.

Code Debugging Section (20 minutes): There were 7 questions in total. We had to find the logical error in the given code snippet and to correct the same. This section was easy.

Coding test (70 minutes): 2 coding questions were asked.

  1. Easy level problem on Sorting.

2. Medium level problem on Binary Tree. Problem Statement was similar to this question - https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/find-number-of-employees-under-every-manager/ .

Work style assessment (20 minutes): These were behavioral questions.

Reasoning ability section (35 minutes): 24 Multiple choice questions were there which mainly included Aptitude, Paragraph based Questions, Reasoning Questions.

After this Round after approximately 15 days I got the mail regarding getting qualified for next round.

Second Round F2F Interview (1 Hour Long):

The Round was conducted on Amazon Chime.

Firstly interviewer asked me to introduce myself. Then, she directly jumped to coding questions. I was asked two questions in this round, and she wants me to write the code for the same on their own coding portal.

1. Easy level problem including Binary Search on 2D Matrix. This was very easy problem and didn’t took more time to explain and discuss the various possible solutions.

2. Medium level problem on Topological Sorting. Topological Sort isn’t very frequent topic in DSA Interviews but having good CP background helped me to code it from scratch without facing much difficulty. Question was similar to https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/find-whether-it-is-possible-to-finish-all-tasks-or-not-from-given-dependencies/ .

She just wanted me to write the driving functions and expected me to go from Brute solution to Most optimised Solution. They were very particular about Complexities. I was able to provide the optimal solution that they wanted from me.

Next day itself I got the call and they informed me that I qualified for next Round which was last Round.

Third Round F2F Interview (1 Hour Long):

The Round was also conducted on Amazon Chime.

Flow of the interview pretty similar to Second Round. Firstly the Interviewer introduced about his work in Amazon. Followed by that I gave my introduction. This Round included 3 Questions — 1 Situational & 2 DSA.

1. Situational Question : He expected me to give some instances in my Coding journey in which I didn’t knew how to proceed and how did I successfully completed it. I gave 2 such instances and he was satisfied.

2. Easy level problem including Binary Search. The Problem Statement was confusing at first but later I figured out Binary Search would help. I coded the solution and he was satisfied and proceeded to next Question.

3. Medium level problem on Topological Sorting. It was a similar question to the one I got in Second Round. Interviewer expected some modification in my code and I coded it accordingly. Lastly I was suppose to Hand-run the Code on Test Cases given.

The Round was fairly easy and was expecting some hard problem in Last Round. He was happy with my Solutions and explanation and asked me if I had some questions.

Some Tips :

  1. The level is fairly easy and can compare to Easy-Medium level Questions from Leetcode.
  2. The Interviewers are very helpful and they do give hints which you are supposed to catch and proceed.
  3. The way you explain your solution really matters.
  4. Make sure you are good with Complexities at least of standard problems and concepts.

Result :

I got Selected !

Offer & Celebration :

After waiting for nearly 3 weeks, the hiring committee finally sent me mail that I am Selected. It was special as I got an offer from one of FAANG companies after having a good offer from a Startup. My family members and all my friends were very happy and proud.

Conclusion :

This was a detailed overview of the interview process I went through. I hope you find it informative. In case you have any specific question, I’ll be more than happy to help ( My LinkedIn Profile ).
Best wishes 😊

--

--